Handling a Wildlife Emergency

Wildlife Hospital Modified Operations as of October 2022

Our seasonal hours have changed! Our wildlife hospital is open everyday from 9am-3pm. If you have encountered a wild animal in need of assistance, please call our wildlife hotline before bringing the animal to the Center whenever possible (541) 745-5324 ext. 106 If you find an injured animal after hours, please see our After Hours Instructions page. We thank you for your patience.

Wildlife Rehabilitation: We accept patients from Benton, Linn, Lane, Polk, and Marion Counties. Due to several disease outbreaks and other complicating factors, we are not able to admit injured or orphaned animals from several mammalian or avian species including but not limited to: bats, rabbits, raccoons, skunks, and foxes. We advise anyone needing assistance with a wild animal to please call our wildlife hotline (541-745-5324) for more specific information and/or guidance.

We’re Hiring! We are seeking a Development Coordinator to join our team. Check out our jobs page to learn more!

Our Wildlife Hospital is here to help navigate conflicts with wildlife, up to and including the need for emergency animal care. Use the resources below, and don’t hesitate to call us for assistance – especially if a wild animal is in need of medical attention!

Oregon Laws Protect Wildlife

First and foremost, we need to mention the state and federal laws in place that protect native wildlife:

Wild animals belong in the wild. Feeding an animal the wrong food could harm or kill it. In captivity, animals lose the chance to learn critical survival skills such as where to find food and shelter and how to escape from predators. They are much less likely to survive once returned to the wild. Keeping an animal also habituates it to people. Animals that lose their natural fear of people can dangerous.

Removing or “capturing” wildlife from the wild and keeping it in captivity without a permit is against the law. It is considered a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail and a $6,250 fine.

– Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife

While you can’t legally keep a wild animal (even to help it recover), you are allowed to possess a sick, injured, or orphaned animal for up to 24 hours while transferring it to a permitted rehabilitator or licensed veterinarian.

If you find yourself in this situation, please give us a call immediately and refer to the resources below so we can work together to care for animals in need.